A 6:15 AM Call from the Mayor

Saturday!! 6:15 a.m.

I am awakened by a call on my cell: “You haven’t paid your bills for a whole year,” declares Mayor Tommy. He’s going to turn off my power. It’s mid-winter, and I will be without heat as well.

I protest that I’ve been paying my bills, but that I haven’t received any receipts for a year, and suggest the problem is with his office.

That afternoon he calls back, and I suggest he contact my bank, which will confirm that the money has been taken out of my account. He does so, and now the mailman is the chief suspect. Whew!

Some of the happiest memories of my childhood are of playing pretend games with my friends. We changed rules and roles at will, as Tommy and Tina do. I even had a lovely set of dishes–real china–that my mother had played with when she was a little girl.

Does this kind of play have any useful function?

I had known much of this (quoted from from “The Importance of Pretend Play”) http://www.scholastic.com/parents/resources/article/creativity-play/importance-pretend-play:

When your child engages in pretend (or dramatic) play, he is actively experimenting with the social and emotional roles of life. Through cooperative play, he learns how to take turns, share responsibility, and creatively problem-solve. When your child pretends to be different characters, he has the experience of “walking in someone else’s shoes,” which helps teach the important moral development skill of empathy.

But I had not even imagined this:

According to the Early Childhood Research & Practice Journal (Doris Bergen, Volume 4, Number 1),

Although not specifically focused on pretense, a longitudinal study in which preschool children were rated on the complexity of their block play (which has a high symbolic component) and then were followed into their high school years found (controlling for IQ and gender) positive relationships with seventh-grade mathematical test scores and high school measures of math grades, number of math courses, and number of honors courses (Wolfgang, Stannard, & Jones, 2001).

Pretty impressive! Mayor Tommy can call me anytime.

Leave a Reply

