My Uncle Arthur–and Tommy’s Too

A long time ago, long before Tommy and Tina, long before Lisa and Maria, my grade two classmate read us a story from Uncle Arthur’s Bedtime Stories. And I still remember sitting at my desk, my friend at the front, seated and reading “Jesus Understood”. The ending choked me up and still does.

Fast forward to when our children were little, and we bought the set of “Uncle Arthurs” and read the stories to our children.

Fast forward again to Tommy in the back seat of the car, telling me about a story Auntie Maria read to him. Ah yes, I recognize it and travel in my mind back to my grade two year.

Some would say we evolved as storytellers, Ug telling Glug what happened to poor Scrug when he knocked down the hornets’ nest, and others would say we were created as such by our creative God. Few, however, would deny the power of a good story.

Fast forward again–do I see Tommy reading Uncle Arthur’s Bedtime Stories to his little one?

“There have been great societies that did not use the wheel, but there have been no societies that did not tell stories.”
Ursula K. LeGuin
http://storyteller.net/

“Storytelling can change a room. It can change lives. It can change the world.”
Gwenda LedBetter
http://traubman.igc.org/story.htm

Leave a Reply

