Wedding Bells for Tommy

Tommy has given his phone number to Raina, a little girl in his kindergarten class, and the two are planning to marry. Good thing. Lisa prefers Raina to the girl he was engaged to the day before.

That brings me back to second grade. I had a pretty serious crush on Kenny, and devised a clever way to get his attention. Wading into the midst of a ferocious snowball fight, I called “Kenny, save me!” And save me he did. (After all, I’m here to tell the story!) Bearing the fierce onslaughts of flying white stuff, Kenny put his hands on my arms. “A little girl like you shouldn’t be out in this,” said my hero as he led me back to safety.

Which brings me back to a young boy in our church when Maria and Lisa were little. “I have a question to ask you,” Lisa announced to him importantly—and then she and Maria confronted him. Which one of them did he like the best? Poor George! No amount of squirming and avoiding would satisfy the two menacing competitors, but I don’t believe he ever gave them an answer either. He did, however, marry someone else and move several thousand miles away!

It’s a funny thing that when a man hasn’t anything on earth to worry about, he goes off and gets married. ~Robert Frost

Leave a Reply

