“There’s a Baby!”

I really hadn’t foreseen this.

Don’s group is collecting donations for the local Red Cross, the Food Bank, and a program which helps homeless people. He pitches his tent outside our workplace for a two-night, three-day stint, and I note with approval that the Security Office is just inside the door.

“Would you like to help me pick out some food for hungry babies?” I ask four-year-old Tina after she, her mom and I arrive at the grocery store. I lead her to the organic baby foods, and she chooses two jars as directed. But then she sees others she likes better (brighter colors?). I check them for added sugar. She gives me others to check. Tina looks so grown-up, briskly handing me jars and asking, “Does this have sugar?” She finally settles on two very brightly colored foods (beech nut, perhaps, and carrot), and Maria (her mom) chooses to buy a can of formula.

Oh oh! I hadn’t foreseen this! As soon as we see a baby, Tina reaches for the baby food to hand it to the little one. I say that baby looks well fed, but then we see another one. Tina tries again. The store seems to be full of babies! However, I manage to convince Tina that the babies we’re seeing are well fed, and that this food is for babies we don’t know.

We go back to Maria’s house, where she unloads her groceries and collects more donations. Tina and I head back to my workplace to deliver them.

As we put the items in the bin, we think about who could use them—the recorder for a child who doesn’t have toys, the yellow top and jean shorts for a little girl, pretty pastel socks and a soft green blanket for a baby, and of course the baby food for a hungry little one.

After supper at Maria’s, Tina and I build a fancy tower with feet and movable parts from the Fiddlestix™. The hungry crocodile chases the Brontosaur and musical giraffes up and down the tower and around the house.

A lovely end to a lovely day.

“When I was hungry, you gave me something to eat, and when I was thirsty, you gave me something to drink. When I was a stranger, you welcomed me, and when I was naked, you gave me clothes to wear. . . . Whenever you did it for any of my people, no matter how unimportant they seemed, you did it for me.”
From Matthew 25: 35, 36, 40  (Contemporary English Version)

One response to ““There’s a Baby!”

  1. Patricia Ferguson

    I loved the story about May and serving tea to her Grandma who she has just met. I especially like the kind words about me.Trricia. that Margaret included about the tea parties May and I used to have and about the kindness and lovely manners I taught May when she lived with me. Thankyou Margaret you made my day

Leave a Reply

