The Parable of the Lost Sheep (as told to a little girl)

I love drama. One of my favorite pastimes is storytelling using role play, and two of my favorite people are Tommy and Tina.

Tina likes the parable of The Lost Sheep.

The shepherd is counting his sheep. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 . . .98. 99 . . .  oh no! One of the baby lambs is missing!

“It’s cold and windy, and I’m hungry and tired. My wife is cooking a good supper, but I’m NOT going home! I’m going to find my baby sheep!”

The shepherd walks and walks. His feet hurt, and he’s so cold. The wind is blowing hard (insert wind sound). But he says, “I’m NOT going home! I’m going to find my baby sheep!”

He comes to a high, high mountain. It’s so dark, and so cold, and the mountain is so high, but the shepherd says, “I’m NOT going home! I’m going to find my baby sheep!”

The wind blows and blows and the shepherd climbs and climbs. Ouch! His knees hurt. Oops! He just about fell! Then he hears a lion (insert roaring sound).

He says, “It’s so dark and so cold, and I’m so hungry, and there’s a lion on the mountain. But I’m NOT going home. I’m going to find my baby sheep!”

Way, way up high on the mountain, the baby sheep is cold and scared. “Baa! Baa!” he calls, but his voice is very low. He’s so cold and so hungry.

The lion roars, and the baby sheep is scared.

The shepherd climbs and climbs, and what does he see? Way, way up high—it’s the baby sheep!

“I don’t care that it’s dark,” says the shepherd, “and I don’t care that my legs hurt. I’m going to get my baby sheep!”

He reaches way, way up, and he gets that baby sheep. He puts it on his shoulders, climbs down the mountain, runs back to the sheepfold, and gives that baby sheep to his mother.

“Now I can go home for supper,” he says. “My baby sheep is safe.”

Matthew 18: 12, 13

Leave a Reply

