The Wordsmith and the Mechanical Genius

“I clean my nose,” Tommy tells Lisa.

“Oh!” she exclaims. “Your nose is bleeding.”

“I clean the bleed,” Tommy answers.

Did Tommy really try to change the verb “bleeding” to a noun, “bleed”?

I think he did. And I think he’ll be a wordsmith when he grows up.

“We were surprised, weren’t we?” Tommy asked one day. A pretty advanced question for a 2½- year-old, I’d say!

When he was a very young two, Tommy asked me, “Where’s my vitamins?”

“He’s two,” I reasoned. “He can’t know the word ‘vitamins.’ Maybe he’s asking about something else.

“I don’t know,” I answered.

Tommy tried again. “Where’s my pills?”

He gave me a synonym, thinking I might understand it better!

Even as a tiny girl, Tina tried to pry a toy apart with a spoon and showed great interest in the little wheels and wires at a toy and hobby store. When we were brushing our teeth one day, she noticed a screw loose in the medicine cabinet. Brushing stopped as her little fingers turned that screw until she was satisfied that it was in properly. And for some time now, she has enjoyed buckling her teddy bear into her car seat.

I suspect Tina has her mechanical genius dad’s gifts, and Tommy’s gifts are more like Maria’s and Lisa’s. Tommy and Tina are still very young, of course, and we don’t want to label them. But it will be fun to see how they develop.

  . . . unto one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one . . . . ”

I don’t know if Tommy and Tina are one talent, two talent or five talent people, but I earnestly hope they will one day hear the words, “Well done thou good and faithful servant

. . . enter thou into the joy of thy Lord.” Matthew 25: 15, 21

Leave a Reply

