"I'm Scared"

At two and a half, Tina’s going through a scary time.

We look at her big Bible story book, the one Auntie gave her for Christmas, and talk about the pictures of the people in the dark. There’s Abraham looking up at the stars. “It’s dark,” I say, “but he’s not scared because God is there.” Page after page, we find the nighttime pictures and I tell her, “It’s dark, but __________ isn’t scared because God is there.” I sing, “Jesus loves me in the dark, and He loves me when it’s light. In the dark and in the light, Jesus loves me all the time.”

After awhile she says, “I’m not scared.”

Sometimes she’s not scared, but her toys and balls are. One day the cans of baby food in the cupboard are scared. I hold them in my arms and sing Jesus Loves Me.

“I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” Psalm 34:4

Leave a Reply

